Currency Profile

Bulgarian Lev (BGN)

The Bulgarian Lev (BGN) is the currency of Bulgaria. One BGN is divided into 100 stotinki. Banknotes come in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 leva, while coins are available in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 stotinki.

The name of the currency originates from the Bulgarian word for lion.

BGN is a pegged currency, with its value tied to the Euro. One Euro is worth 1.95583 BGN. 

The lev was first introduced in 1881 and was at par with the French Franc. It has been devalued/denominated three times in its history, in 1952, 1962 and 1999.

Bulgaria joined the European Union in 2007 but has not yet adopted the euro as its official currency. For now, the lev remains Bulgaria’s primary form of tender. At present, Bulgaria hopes to replace the BGN with the Euro in 2024.

Key Facts about the
Bulgarian Lev:

Convert via Phone Only

The Bulgarian Lev is not currently available to be converted online, you'll need to call the team when you want to make a conversion

Related articles about the Bulgarian Lev