Currency Profile

Croatian Kuna (HRK)

The Croatian Kuna is the official currency of Croatia. It is subdivided into 100 lipa. 

The Kuna was introduced in 1994, replacing the previous Croatian Dinar at a rate of 1 Kuna = 1000 Dinara. 

The word “kuna” means “marten” in Croatian, and refers to a unit of measure used in medieval times. 

The Kuna is currently pegged to the Euro, with a rate of 1 Euro = 7.4 Kunas. Coins in circulation include 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 lipa coins, as well as 1, 2 and 5 Kuna coins. Banknotes in circulation include 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Kuna notes.

The Croatian National Bank is responsible for issuing the currency. 

Croatia is a member of the European Union and will be replacing the HRK with the Euro in January 2023.


Key Facts about the
Croatian Kuna:

Convert via Phone Only

The Croatian Kuna is not currently available to be converted online, you'll need to call the team when you want to make a conversion

Related articles about the Croatian Kuna