Currency Profile

Hungarian Forint (HUF)

The Hungarian Forint is the official currency of Hungary. It is subdivided into 100 fillér, although coins denominated in fillér have not been issued since 1999. 

The forint has been the currency of Hungary since 1949 and was previously a unit of the Austro-Hungarian Empire’s currency. 

The word forint comes from the Italian word “fiorino,” which was the name of a mediaeval gold coin used in Hungary. 

The symbol for the Hungarian Forint is “Ft”, and the ISO 4217 code is “HUF”.

The most commonly used notes are 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 forints. 10,000 and 20,000 forints notes are also in circulation but are less commonly used. 50,000 forint notes are only used by banks. 

Hungary joined the European Union in 2004 but has not yet adopted the Euro as its official currency. It is not currently planning on joining the Euro any time soon and meets very few of the convergence criteria.

The HUF has been relatively stable since its introduction however it has seen some volatility in recent years due to concerns about the Hungarian economy and the creeping authoritarianism and anti-EU sentiment in the political system. 

Key Facts about the
Hungarian Forint:

Convert via Phone Only

The Hungarian Forint is not currently available to be converted online, you'll need to call the team when you want to make a conversion

Related articles about the Hungarian Forint