Currency Profile

Polish Złoty (PLN)

The Polish złoty is the currency of Poland. The modern złoty is subdivided into 100 groszy (singular: grosz). The currency code for Złotych is PLN, and the currency symbol is zł. Until 2014, the official currency abbreviation was “zł”, but “PLN” is now used universally.

The złoty has been fully convertible since 1995 and floated since 2000.  Poland joined the European Union on May 01, 2004, and is obliged to join the Euro. However, Poland has not yet met the criteria to join the Eurozone and has no intentions of doing so anytime soon.

The złoty was introduced in 1924 by replacing the Polish marka with a currency exchange rate of one złoty to one hundred thousand old marki.

The word “złoty” means “golden”.

One notable feature of the currency is that several commemorative coins and banknotes have featured the image of Pope John Paul II on them. He was born in Poland and his image appears on other Polish items as well, such as postage stamps.

Key Facts about the
Polish Złoty:

Convert Online & Phone

When you need to convert the Polish Zloty you can do it both in your online account and by calling the team

Related articles about the Polish Złoty