Currency Profile

Qatar Rial (QAR)

The Qatari riyal is the official currency of the State of Qatar

It is divided into 100 dirhams and is abbreviated as QR (English) or ﷼ (Arabic).

The Qatari riyal was introduced in 1973 to replace the Gulf rupee, a currency used by the British Protectorate States in the Gulf. 

Until the 1960s, the Indian Rupee was used in Qatar.

The Qatari riyal is pegged to the US dollar at a rate of QR$= $0.2722. This peg has been in place since 2001.

Key Facts about the
Qatari Rial:

Convert via Phone Only

The Qatari Rial is not currently available to be converted online, you'll need to call the team when you want to make a conversion

Related articles about the Qatar Rial